celibacy, life, love, men, reflexion, relationships, sex, wacky, women

The standing joke of the year (and even after)


Sometimes, you don’t know why, but you end up with a partner you don’t necessarily like, physically or because of his/her personality. Some people are even ashamed to be seen with their partner in public that they choose to keep him/her secret. 

One of my friends dated for one year a guy who was a friend of her friends, but she didn’t like him. “It’s not that I hated him, but he just left me cold. There was no spark or whatsoever with him. It was at a time in my life I had a low confidence in me and just needed a man’s company, whoever he was ”  she told me. I still remember that everybody knowing her wondered what she was doing with him, because he was totally out of her league.

Last year, I was invited to a trip by one company we work with, and all the journalists invited had the possibility to bring their partner if they wanted.  One of them came with his young wife, and we all wondered where he had picked her. We were sitting in a chic restaurant with all the directors of the company which invited us, and she just completely made a fool of herself during the whole evening. She was dressed inapproprietaly for the place (the prostitutes two blocks away wore the same outfit), she was completely drunk, she just kept on talking to the embarrassment of everyone, telling details about her life we didn’t want to know, and calling her husband by sweet names in front of everyone.  Even her husband was embarrassed by her.  I just hope for him it’s not everyday like that with her.

S., 33, told me he dated for almost two years a woman he just disliked, but has something that retained him. “It was just for sex. It was amazing with her. But I couldn’t present her to my friends or my parents. She was way out of my league. I found her really annoying, I hated when she opened her mouth  to say something, and I didn’t particularly find her attractive, but I couldn’t resist her”he explained.

Sex is often the sole and unique reason for this kind of particular relationship,  but there are exceptions. I’m sure my colleague journalist didn’t marry his wife just because of sex (at least, I hope).  But then, what’s the point of staying with someone you’re ashamed of ?

Would you stay with someone you don’t really like ? Personally, I can’t.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The standing joke of the year (and even after)

  1. Raindreamer says:

    Nor could I. And the like is not enough either – I can like, but there would be no spark…there would be no game, sorry. I suppose that is one reason I am single: I often don’t fancy guys, who fancy me. 😦

  2. A male friend of mine recently told me how complicated are women. He’s right, but hey, that’s what makes our mystery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

