celibacy, life, love, men, miscellaneous, relationships, thoughts, wacky, women

The real gentleman


Do you like gentlemen? I do. But how do you recognise a true gentleman? Well, it’s really simple. According to a newspaperI often read, a few details should immediately catch your attention. Example, if he has a problem with hygiene,  wears white sport socks with his leather shoes, or  a sleeveless T-shirt under his shirt, or his mobile phone attached to his belt,  there’s a big chance you have a lout.  Some other details are more subtle, like the fact he has to wear a tie with his suit, but leaves it if he takes off his suit. And no bling-bling. It’s just a matter of class, in that case.

Then, there’s the attitude.   Basically, he has to make you feel you’re worth it. If he grabs your ass, just lets the door shut in front of your nose or doesn’t offer to accompany you late in the night to get back to your home, he’s just a loser.  The right attitude for a man is to climb the stairs before you so he can’t take a look at your ass,  but go down first to catch you if you eventually fall. He also has to hold you the door when you walk in a room or when you go out of a car. But paying the bill at the restaurant doesn’ t make him necessarily a gentleman, although it’s better. You can decide to invite him too. However, he has to take charge of the tip.

Unfortunately, as some of my friends said, it’s not because men follow these principles that they are automatically a gentleman. “I dated this guy who had everything of a gentleman, except when we went to a restaurant. When we decided to leave and take back our coats in the cloakroom. The lady there couldn’t find mine, and he started shouting at her. This was a turn off for me” explained a friend of mine.  “There’s the guy who can be absolutely charming when you go out and turn into a monster, hanging in the house in brief, when you get to live with him” said another friend.

So, do you like good manners?

Standard

5 thoughts on “The real gentleman

  1. amberfireinus says:

    Absolutely! I have been with my husband for 10 years and he still opens doors for me and is always a gentleman in every way. He treats me with the respect I deserve, and I treat him likewise. Its a win/win thing. He gets to feel manly by having the good manners, and I in turn get to feel taken care of and feminine by his display.

    Both of my brothers, although looking at either of them you’d never guess in a million years, are both gentlemen. They both hold doors open, and understand courtesy to ladies and the elderly.

  2. whatigotsofar says:

    I’m gonna take a lot of heat for this.

    Okay, I’ve got to get this in before all you ladies start exclaiming that you like gentlemen. Sure, of course you say you like gentlemen. You say it, but its a lie. I do not accept any statement from a woman when she says “I want to meet a guy whose kind and sweet, you know, a real gentlemen.” Thank you very much, but if I wanted bull shit, I’d go to the nursery and buy a 10 kilo bag of fertilizer. Being a gentlemen doesn’t do a lick of good for guys with the ladies. Women like a guy who is a bit of an asshole. They don’t admit, but they do.

    There, I’m glad I got that off my chest. I think I’ll go run and hide now.

  3. Hi amberfireinus,
    Well, you’re lucky to have a husband like that. It’s true that being a gentleman is a win-win situation for the couple. Thanks for stopping by.

    WIGSF, I let you deal with the other women present on this blog on this…

  4. dontdatethatdude says:

    I like a gentleman. I don’t like a charm school graduate. You know the kind, the ones who do it but are only doing it because it’s the right thing to do. To WIGSF I would say. I have dated too many assholes to count and many have opened doors and done gentlemanly things. For me the attraction to the asshole was he doesn’t seem needy, he doesn’t come on too strong and he’s kind of hard to get. I have since learned what to watch out for and gauge my attraction accordingly. Sometimes being nice and sweet seems fake and inappropriate when you first start dating, after a relationship is established bring it on.

  5. DDTD, what’s an asshole, anyway? And you can be a gentleman and an asshole at the same time. I have many, many examples around me. And you’re right about getting fooled by appearances.

Leave a Reply

