broken heart, celibacy, life, love, men, miscellaneous, relationships, thoughts, wacky, women

Strangers when we meet


Are you on facebook? I am. I yielded to the temptation because of my close friends. Once, we were having a dinner at one of my friends’ house and decided to register to this social networking website. And with my friends, we had the idea to find the people we haven’t seen for a while, from our elementary school crush to friends who move to another country. We couldn’t help searching for our ex’s to see what they have become. This is how I found out that none of mine were registered there, thankfully, but also that D. is (and it’s very recent). And no, I don’t want to ask him to be my facebook friend. It’s too weird for me. One of my friends recovered one of her ex’s on the other hand. She added him as her friend, and later, she told me he accepted her invitation.  But since then, she hasn’t received any message from him. “He just accepted my invitation so he could have more friends on Facebook, that’s all” she said. In fact, I know a lot of people who just accept any friend invitation on this site so they can have as much friends as they want. Here, quantity takes over quality. You are in if you have a lot of friends. Period. One of my colleagues once confessed he enjoys having more than 300 friends on Facebook, and that whoever asks him about this, even if he doesn’t have a clue about the person, he will approve it.
Another friend of mine told me that she recovered one of her ex’s on facebook and that she started to reconnect with him that way. “He was happy to hear from me. We haven’t seen each other for quite a while, and offered me to go and have a drink together. This is how I ended sleeping with him again. But after that, he just disappeared again. Even if he’s still on facebook, he hasn’t replied to any of my messages” she said. She also added the flirt application to her profile, only to remove it three weeks later. “I got a lot of propositions, but nothing inspired me. It’s worse than on a dating site” she explained. “When you have more than 300 friends on facebook, you received plenty of useless news about them that drown the rest of the important news. I suspect some of my messages were lost in the amount of informations filling everyone’s profile” she said.
 So, how do you use facebook? If you receive a friend invitation from one of your ex’s, would you accept it?
Standard

12 thoughts on “Strangers when we meet

  1. I had a tough time even deciding to take up the “Tagged” (another social network) before finally accepting it. However, I’ll still accept it unless the ex wasn’t worth the effort.

  2. whatigotsofar says:

    I think I’ve got something like 15 to 20 friends on Facebook. All but three of them are people I’ve met and am friends with. I don’t use it to converse with people anymore. There is this other device, its called a telephone. It lets you talk to people. Amazing. What will they think of next?
    The three people on my facebook friends list that I don’t actually know are people I’ve met through blogging. Given the opportunity to meet them and grab a coffee or something, I would definetely do that. I think the only reason I haven’t met these people is the distance involved. Seattle, Wales, these places are pretty far from where I’m from.

    I think a good question to ask is whether or not you’ve removed a friend from facebook and why.

    To answer your question, I invited an ex-friend on Facebook only to remove her from the list a couple of months later. I wanted to reconnect with her but it never came to be.

  3. WIGSF, having too much friends on facebook is hard to handle, don’t you think? Besides, you’re right, if you rely on this site just to chat with your friends, it’s miserable, except if they live in another country. If your social life boils down to facebook, it’s really sad.

  4. I only have facebook friends with those that a) I know personally now and b) I have worked with before. I find it a great way to keep in touch with people that are now living overseas and I don’t connect with that much.

    My Ex “poked” me on facebook on Monday and I didnt really know what to do. I am not sure I want to be facebook friends with him and watch the flirting that can sometimes appear in the feeds.

    I recently removed a facebook friend because he was obnoxious. I had no qualms about removing him. I know that sounds cold and cruel.

  5. dontdatethatdude says:

    I am not on facebook, so behind the times. Ugh. I’ve at leat heard of it. I’m gonna look at it though!

  6. Stardust, I share your view on this. For your ex, it’s a little bit weird. But you decide whether or not you want to keep contact with him on Facebook.

    DDTD, facebook has pros and cons. But hey, it’s worth being curious 🙂

  7. Raindreamer says:

    To tell a truth I have I think 5 (or maybe 6) friends in the facebook. I’ve been quite passive my self, but still I’ve asked 4 of them to be my friends. I’ve got no invitations from people I know and would not admit any of those, if they were strangers. I’ve seen quite a lot of people I know there, but I prefer to stuck on people I like and who like me.

  8. Raindreamer says:

    That is true, but I think in fact that most of those people would propably accept my friendship-invitation for courtesy. My point of not asking them is really that – I don’t want phony people around me even there. Yet many people that I would prefer to ask are in fact not in the facebook yet – because I’ve checked freguently and as I don’t have some of their contact info, I can’t invite them.

  9. Dick says:

    Having new friends and visitors for your Facebook page can be difficult, since there are 68 mill other people having a Facebook page.
    In freehappydating.com
    you will have a link to your page, when you join the site. It’s all free and people will find you and your page easier.
    Dick

Leave a Reply

