broken heart, celibacy, life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

Race for the prize


When you’re a beautiful woman, you can face a particular problem with men: playing the role of the trophy wife/girlfriend. Some women don’t mind at all being considered like that, while others just can’t stand it. One of my friends is a former model, and she had experienced it a lot when she was younger. “When I was a teenager, the boyfriends I had all wanted to present me to their friends so they can brag about that. It was extremely unpleasant, I had the impression I was just a piece of meat. Besides, I had the impression they dated me for what I represented, not for myself” she said.”If a man tells me that he wants me to meet his friends although it has been only three days we’re dating, I find that really suspect. Especially if his friends are all male ones” T., a 34 year-old beauty, said.

Sometimes, it’s really obvious he’s using you as a trophy, but sometimes, it isn’t that simple. “I met B. during a professional meeting. He was the speaker, I was a journalist attending the seminar, and after it, he invited me for dinner. He had a lot of attentions for me afterwards and simply couldn’t spend a day without calling me. I got completely seduced by him and started dating him shortly after. Everything was perfect, except that I found it a little bit odd he brought me to multiple seminars with him, so I could be near him. Once, as I was in the restroom, I heard two women talking in the room about that cute little journalist who was the latest toy of this guy, CEO of a big company. I didn’t immediately understand, but then, it stroke me: they were talking about me. It was horrible, I felt used. I immediately broke up with him” L., 31, said.

It’s a pill bitter to swallow when you realised you were used like that. But some women don’t mind being treated like that, they even find it flattering. It’s a question of point of view.

Besides, it’s flattering that your man can be proud of you because of who you are. And if he doesn’t want to present you to his friends, maybe he’s ashamed of you, and that leaves you with another kind of problem.

So, would you mind being considered as a trophy? And for the men reading this, do you brag about the women you’re dating?

Standard

5 thoughts on “Race for the prize

  1. dontdatethatdude says:

    I can’t decide about this, I think I would want my man to be proud of the way I looked, but I would also hope he realizes that looks fade. The down side to being a trophy is once your looks are gone he would leave you . . .

  2. I want to be loved and appreciated for my inside. I love and appreciate others for their insides. I do not date traditionally handsome men, mostly because they tend to be shallow, particularly if they are looks-oriented. Trophy doesn’t even enter my reality. I find it absurd.

  3. Raindreamer says:

    It’s so funny – I just wrote about similar issue in my posting. I’ve had this friend of a friend of mine, a very nice, beautiful girl, who used to complain about this a lot.

  4. Raindreamer says:

    I have to agree it is nice if the man is proud of you, but it is not nice if he is flaunting you. And there is a clear difference here.

  5. DDTD, indeed, there’s a risk this kind of men could get bored of your beauty if it’s the only thing that counts for him.

    Cricket, in the end, what matters the most is what you have inside. If a man is proud of your intelligence and humour, then it’s rewarding.

    Raindreamer, it’s funny we thought about the same topic the same time 🙂 There’s a clear difference to make between being proud and flauting you.

Leave a Reply

