celibacy, humor, life, love, men, miscellaneous, relationships, sex, thoughts, wacky

A burger queen


I recently read in a magazine an interview of Salma Hayek, gushing about her newborn. She had however those words toward her bundle of joy: “I wanted to have a boy. I’m happy to have a girl, but I have the sense it’s easier for men on this planet than for women”.

Is it really difficult to be a woman?

Well, yes and no, it’s a question of point of view. I often hear women complaining about how difficult it is to be like that because of their looks. “Men don’t have to spend hours in the bathroom to look human. They just shave, wash, and that’s it, they’re ready. When I wake up in the morning, I realise I have a lot of work to do to eliminate any mark of sleep off my face, and if I have a pimple, my day is simply ruined” O., 31, said. “Men don’t have to spend a lot to look good. We do. They don’t need to have handbags, shoes, accessories to match their clothes. They don’t need to go often to the hairdresser, nor the beautician because they can let their hair grow, they won’t look like a monster”P.,35, said. “Men don’t need to put make up and to check it everytime. They can rub their eyes if they want and then not look like a raccoon“ P., 34, said. “They can pee everywhere”,U.,31, said.

Women also complains about their conditions when it comes to work, because this is where disparities are the most obvious. Unfortunately, for the same job, we’re still often paid less than a man,  maybe because we don’t have the guts to ask for a pay rise. And also, our family duties often put a strain on our career.

Finally, there are also disparities in the cruising part, but here, I don’t know in which camp it is better to sit. “I prefer to be a woman just because I can get invited in a restaurant without being considered as a boor or stingy“P., 24, said. “I do believe it’s easier for a woman because I am the one who gets asked out, I don’t think I would ask out a man” Y., 35, said. “I don’t know, I have the impression that men get less harassed than women” L., 36, said.

So, do you think it’s difficult to be a woman? And do you think it’s difficult to be a man?

Standard

6 thoughts on “A burger queen

  1. whatigotsofar says:

    This may just be my bias, but I’d have to say it’s more difficult to be a man. We’re the ones who have to put up with the women and all their irrational behaviour. We’re the ones who have to initiate the mating ritual. And to top it all off, we usually die first.

  2. Girls=Drama says:

    Girls have it soooooo much easier. GUys have to deal with our drama and our crying. I hate other girls for giving girls like me a bad name.

    SUre we have child birth, and other girls creating drama about us and making everything into a competition but later in life when we get married the guys have to deal with everything a lot more.

  3. WIGSF, there are things for which it’s best to be a man, others for which it’s best to be a woman. The dying thing is an example.

    Hi Girls=Drama,
    Like I said to WIGSF, there are things for which it’s best to be a woman, and the emotional/drama part is for sure one good reason.
    Thanks for stopping by.

  4. I think life is so much easier for men. All the biases that are supposedly gone, well, they aren’t. Men get what they want so much easier.

  5. dontdatethatdude says:

    I think guys have it easier, “hormonally” speaking and a guy can, let’s face it, be pretty bad looking and still get a nice looking girl, but just because I think guys have it easier doesn’t mean I want to be one…lol

  6. Cricket, it depends on what you want. But it’s true that men have more authority than we do in general.

    DDTD, you’re right on this: if a man is bad looking but has a great personality, he will get the pretty girl. The reverse is never true.

Leave a Reply

