life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

New Soul


Many of you have probably heard about this news: Helmut Kohl, 78, has just tied the knot again with  a 44 year old economist named Maike. He was previously married to another woman who committed suicide. Let’s wish to the new bride not the same fate… (I’m horrible, I know).

If they had dated earlier in their life, he would have been considered as a pedophile or something like that, and people would have criticized her for looking after a father figure. I’m sure now Maike’s mom wouldn’t have said anything against this union (if she’s still alive).

Passed a certain age, age difference isn’t such a problem anymore. For some people, at least. When I see my friend, who’s 30, dating a 55 year-old man, I don’t see any problem because at 55, he’s still got it going on (some of my professional contacts  are younger than him, and they look much older than him). Her man would give complex to my male generation…

Yet, I’m wondering what was Maike thinking by marrying a guy who could be my grandpa…

Does that disgust you?

Standard

7 thoughts on “New Soul

  1. I think I can still accept a man 20 years older but old enough to be my grandpa, I’m not so sure.

    OT: It’s “tied the knot”.

  2. whatigotsofar says:

    I’m easily disgusted. The thought of a 78 year old having sex is kinda nasty. I don’t care what boner pills are available. It’s just nasty.

    But in terms of a 78 year old marrying a 40 something. That I’m okay with. I’m okay with any union between two people both over 40. No matter how much over 40 they are.

    But I do have an issue with a 30 or 40 year old guy and a 20 year old gal hooking up. Or basically, any woman 20 and under hooking up with a guy nearing 30. I could go on for a while, continously putting my foot in my mouth so I will try to sum it up concisely. If the best a 30+ year old guy can do is get a girl under 20, he’s just looking for a woman he can manipulate and control. Her youth and inexperience can be easily exploited by a guy that old.
    In some weird way, I want relationships to be equal partnerships and I don’t believe a guy pushing 30 or possibly 40 can be in an equal relationship with a woman who is only 20.

  3. dontdatethatdude says:

    I am continually disgusted by marriages like this. What, is he super rich? It irritates me to no end that old, ugly, simply gross men with A LOT of money can get women half their age to marry them, you rarely see it happen the other way around. I know it does, but not much. I cannot see any other reason why an attractive woman would marry such an old man, but for the money. My bad? I suppose if he was 78 and he looked and acted like he was 50 or if he was like the guy in your example I would feel differently.

  4. WishBoNe, my bad. It’s never a good idea to write late in the night.

    WIGSF, older men who look for a much younger woman than them are either immature or looking for someone to easily manipulate.

    DDTD, HK is disgusting. There are men who are still hot at 60 and over, but him, nooooo!

  5. I’m 50 and my husband is 65. We’ve been married 21 years. I just found this on Wikipedia (and you know if it’s there it must be true!).

    The “half-your-age (older person)-plus-seven rule” is one rule of thumb defining a mathematical formula to judge whether the age difference in an intimate relationship is socially acceptable.

    The Kolh’s flunk (thankfully my marriage passes!) No judgments from me on this end – I’m in a glass house. But, I am fancinated by the phenom and find the rule interesting too.

    mdc

  6. Hi may d.cember,

    Thanks for letting me know about this rule! Indeed, the age difference between the new Mrs Kohl and H.Kohl is definitely too wide. This phenomenon is indeed fascinating.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

