life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

Do ya think I’m sexy?


Recently, my friends had to determine on Facebook if I was sexy or cute, and they voted for the second answer. This makes me think, do we need to be sexy? And what makes us sexy?

On that topic, there’s a clear distinction to make between sexy and vulgar. Unfortunately, there’s a thin line between the two, and it’s easy to fall into the second category if you try too hard being sexy. I personally think that Pamela Anderson personifies the best this example. Look at her when she tries to catch the attention:

And now, when she’s not wearing makeup and doesn’t care about her looks:

Personally, I think she’s damn sexy on the second picture, while on the first one, well, she’s simply vulgar.

I asked my friends what does the word sexy mean to them, and this is what they replied:

I believe sexiness comes along with self-confidence, and that this is something that grows as you get mature. You know yourself better when you’re older, and know what works and what’s not with your body. You know what part of it you can highlight, and what makes you look at your best” said G.

It’s easier to feel sexy in the summer than in the winter when you’re hidden behind multiple layers of clothes. However, sexiness is in the attitude, and it all boils down to suggest, not to show off all your assets. I find sexy a shoulder revealed inadvertently by a large t-shirt or the lace of a bra accidentally seen because of a loose shirt, or a skirt a little bit too short/ lifted by the wind” said F.

“You are sexy when you don’t expect it. When you try to be sexy, generally, you don’t produce the effect you just wished. But I’m not saying that you are sexy if you neglect yourself. Just that less is more. With a simple little black dress, you can be as sexy as if you chose a wide cleavage if you feel comfortable in the first look while not in the second one” P. said.

“Sexiness is not necessarily in the looks. I find intelligent people really sexy. Also, a voice can be sexy, or not. The softness of the skin or a subtle smell /perfume can be major turns on for me too” O. said.

Besides, why do we need to feel sexy? I’m often surprised to hear that women generally dress for the other women, not for men. The reason behind this is simple: except gays, men aren’t interested in what’s fashionable, the quality of the fabric, the look,… Women do care, on the other hand. Just in my newsroom, every female journalist can’t help looking at her counterparts to see how they dress, while male journalists only comment when it’s too short, too provocative or simply too ugly.

We try to be sexy when we need to seduce someone. When we don’t have that intention, we don’t pay that much attention to this detail.

So, do you think you’re sexy? And what’s sexy to you?

Standard

6 thoughts on “Do ya think I’m sexy?

  1. dontdatethatdude says:

    I think I can be sexy, but I am more on the cute side, but I also think cute can be very sexy. I agree with most of the comments in your post about self confidence and sex appeal. If you feel sexy it doesn’t matter what you are wearing or how your hair is done. I have been called sexy when I wasn’t trying to be sexy at all. I think sexy happens when we aren’t paying attention to it!

    Just a side note: I think Pam Anderson looks terrible in the first picture. What did they do glue her top to her nipples? LOL

  2. lovetips4all says:

    I have been called both. I usually try to hide my body and feel very self-conscious to wear a deep V top.

    I agree that less is more and when you are not trying to be sexy you can be yourself and that’s how people can really view you.

    I like Pamela Anderson much better when she first started out in the Home Improvement show. She’s much more pretty and her body looked more sexy and natural.

    And modobs, you pic on the Facebook is too tiny for me to vote, hahaha, you need to send me a bigger one! 🙂

  3. Hi E.!

    Good to hear from you again. Do you want me to put a pic like the one above (not the Pamela one) on facebook? Gosh, no, I have some professional contacts listed in my “friends” and although I’m sure some of them would appreciate, I don’t want to feel embarrassed 🙂

Leave a Reply

