life, love, men, miscellaneous, relationships, thoughts, wacky, women

Read my mind


Many years ago, when I just started as a journalist, I went to a seminar abroad where I met one of my readers. I found it (and I still find it) odd, because when you’re a journalist, you’re not supposed to have fans or faithful readers. At least, that’s what I thought when I began this career. And the guy I had in front of me just told me this: marry me. I remember I just blushed, muttered something and then walked away from him. Gosh, it was embarrassing.

This got me thinking: can we fall in love with someone just because of what he/she writes?

With my personal experience, I would say no. You can’t tell who I am just by the articles I write (the topics I write about are way different from what I write in here). Generally, my articles relate facts in the financial world. Hedge funds, the subprime crisis, private equity firms, stock exchanges, … aren’t particularly known to be sexy. And I try to be objective all the time. Yet, it’s true that each journalist/writer has his own style, but I won’t define mine as particularly outstanding. Besides, I’m not a columnist, nor an editorialist yet, and I don’t give my personal opinions in an article. So, if you read my articles, you can’t tell what I’m thinking. At least, I hoped so.

But once, when I had a lunch with  a professional contact who drives me mad, we discussed a little bit about this, and he told me he often agreed with what I wrote in my articles. He said that he knew I was trying to be objective, but yet, there was always an opinion if you read carefully between the lines. Just by the way I select the informations, and I treat it, it becomes clear that I take a position against something. He said that I turn everything serious into something absurd. This is how he perceives my articles, including the ones I write about his company.

Maybe he’s right. I tend to perceive this world as a permanent remake of theater plays from Samuel Beckett, Harold Pinter or Eugene Ionesco. When you think about it, nothing really makes sense in this world.

Yet, what we write just give some details about ourselves, but it certainly not give our whole picture. I’m not just someone who thinks this world is sometimes a little bit absurd. So, I don’t think it’s possible to fall really in love with someone based on his/her writings. If it’s the case, it’s like falling in love with an image, not reality.

What do you think?

Standard

12 thoughts on “Read my mind

  1. I couldn’t fall in love with someone for their business writing. I could see developing an affection for someone writing personal or humorous stuff. It could open a door. Then I’d still have to see if he left the cap off the toothpaste.

  2. dontdatethatdude says:

    I agree with Cricket and I agree with you it is like falling in love with an image, but if I had to chose I would rather fall in love with someone who exposes themselves through writing. It’s the same reason I choose to read your blog and not read someone else’s. Plus, parts of all of us comes out in our writing otherwise, why bother?

  3. whatigotsofar says:

    I think it’s possible to have feelings for somebody you only know through their writings. I know that there is this one female blogger who I lay awake at night, dreaming of, or maybe I’ve said too much.
    Okay, seriously now, I think it’s possible. Some people don’t get out there and meet a lot of people that much. Journal articles may be a lot of that person’s communication with the outside world.

    And to contradict an earlier point you made, I find nothing sexier than sitting in front of a fireplace with a fine lady, a fine glass of wine and the business section of the local newspaper. Just thinking about junk bonds gets my freak juices flowing. Ha!

  4. Cricket, hahaha for the toothpaste! It’s true that writings can open doors.

    DDTD, it’s true that parts of all of us comes out in our writing, but it’s just parts…

  5. WIGSF, it’s a starting point, but reality can be disappointing. Besides, as you said, some men do find women preoccupied by what’s happening in the financial world sexy. It’s a rare breed. Parasite Hilton or that mess that is Britney can’t do that…

  6. CC says:

    I absolutly agree wif the other three readers ~ I think it’s very likely to fall for someone thru their writing ~ that’s how some cyber relationships happen ~ BUT ~ of course, it might be a total different story when you meet them in person!!!

  7. The Last Spartan says:

    I think that falling in love over writing is possible. Intellect is an aphrodisiac. The substance of the writing has to come from somewhere and as long as it is genuine…people may disagree or agree with us. It’s not uncommon for bonds to be forged this way. Is it the best way? Probably not.

  8. Hi CC, you’re right, that’s how some cyber relationships happen. And as you said, it can be a total different story when you meet the person in real. Thanks for stopping by.

    LS, it’s true that writing touches the intellect. I don’t think it’s the best way either.

  9. mimulus says:

    Hello, guys! I know this discussion took time days ago, but I wanna leave my opinion/experience. Since falling in love is not a logical process, it happened to me to fall in love completely with a guy just by having access to his writing. I was already a bit into him but not that much. But this revealed me another side of him that caused a strong impression on me. In my case it didn’t help the approach, since I’m very careful and thought it could sound invasive to mention that, because when you write in a blog you’re not thinking about the impression it may cause if someone reads that.It’s not the case of the journalists though, who try to restrain to the facts, even if they end up revealing a bit of their own opinions between the lines.

  10. Hi mimulus,

    Thanks for your opinion. It’s true that love has nothing rational, so falling in love through someone’s writing can happen, but it leaves you sometimes with disillusion.

  11. Pingback: Roads to perdition « What’s love got to do with it?

  12. Ellis I. Lee says:

    i know it is possible for me to fall in love with someone for what they write because it has happened to me. her name was edna st. vincent millay…

Leave a Reply

