life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

Hang up


Ah, technology! Without it, it would be difficult to live nowadays. But how did our parents and our grandparents before, when the mobile phone/ blackberry/ computer didn’t exist? Today, if you don’t have a mobile phone and a computer (for the blackberry, it’s another thing), you’re considered as an alien. Yet, when you think about it, those devices can also poison our existence and our love life. Because if you use them all the time, you basically ruin your social life, and can disqualify easily in the game of love.

Among the technological devices we use the most today, the mobile phone/PDA is probably the one we use the most. Personally, I don’t use it that much, for the simple reason that I usually forget to turn it on (and it drives my boss and my entourage a little bit crazy, because they can’t reach me). I’m more addicted to my computer (mailbox, blog,…). But among my colleagues and my friends, this one is like a drug and they can’t live without it.

When you spend your life hung at your mobile, it can be annoying for the people around you. It can be interpreted as if you don’t care about them, and find the conversation you have with the person on the phone more interesting than the one who’s speaking to you right now. In other words, it can be disrespectful.

One of my professional contacts is a very busy man, and it’s difficult to join him because he’s constantly on the phone. Yet, when I have to interview him or just spend lunch with him, he has the courtesy to hang up his blackberry. He once apologized because he had to receive an important phone call from his big boss during our lunch, but apart from that, he’s really acting like a gentleman. And I must say I like that.

One of my friends once told me she encountered the opposite of him on a date, and that he managed to exasperate her after just ten minutes spent together. “Each time that his blackberry beeped, he had to look at it to see if he received an email. And it beeped all the time. I had the impression he didn’t care about me at all. Each time I began a conversation with him, we were interrupted by his blackberry. At the end of the date, I just knew I wouldn’t spend more time with me, since he wasn’t able to give me a little bit of his time, and by a little bit, I mean not just periods of seconds” she said.

Of course, some people don’t mind about that. I’ve seen many couples both hung at their mobile while in the restaurant, and they seem fine with that. It’s a question of point of view. Yet, it’s best to be on the same wavelength in that case. You won’t have the same ability to understand someone who can’t live without his blackberry if you’re not addicted yourself to that.

So, do you mind if the people you’re talking to interrupt your conversation to answer their phone?

Standard

8 thoughts on “Hang up

  1. Josiah West says:

    Very well put. I myself have a Blackberry but it is a common courtesy to just put it down whenever you are around people. When I’m not busy or when I’m not otherwise engaged socially is when I bring it out.

  2. whatigotsofar says:

    If somebody talking to me, stops talking to me because they just got a phone call, that better be one damn important call. Generally, I can tell by my hearing of only one side of the conversation. If the person I’m talking to looks like somebody just died, then it’s probably an important call, but if that person just starts talking about whatever, I’ll walk away. I’m obviously not as important as the person on the phone.

    Regardless, if I’m talking to somebody and then their cellphone rings, if that person answers, I’ve already lost a teeny bit of respect for that person right there.

    If the person prefices the conversation with “I’m expecting a very important phone call.” then I’d expect that person to check the phone everytime it rings, but only answer if the caller ID is the specific important call. There are justifiable reasons to answer a phone during any circumstance. But they are very few and far between.

    And in regards to that photo, do you think the woman enjoyed having the cellphone inserted into her womb? I mean, its kind of a weird shape, compared to the usual things that came up there, seeing as how a baby got there.

  3. dontdatethatdude says:

    The cellphone thing irritates me beyond belief, and those people who walk around all the time with that ear piece, OMG, I can’t stand it! My daughter is like that, she can’t live without her phone! It feels to me like people can’t spend one second alone unless they are talking to someone else and when you are with someone else you should never answer calls unless as stated they are expecting something important. I have a prepaid phone in case of emergencies and for traveling, but I keep it turned off most of the time like you and it irritates people who are addicted to phones!

  4. Hi Josiah West,
    Thank you! Yes, it’s a common courtesy to put your blackberry down when you’re around people.

    WIGSF, most of the time, the phone calls we receive aren’t that important. And especially, each mobile has a voicemail, so people can leave a message. You can always call them back later. For the very important call, my professional contact has the luxury to have a secretary who’s filtering all his phone calls. Otherwise, like you said, the person will always check the caller ID, and that can really be annoying.
    And no, having a cellphone inserted in the womb isn’t pleasant at all.

    DDTD, thank god, I’m not the only one who keeps her cellphone turned off most of the time 🙂

  5. I once had a date where he had an extended chat because his ex-wife called for a chit-chat. We didn’t last long.

    At Slate, Dear Prudence recently had in a column that you shouldn’t talk on the phone any time that it would be inappropriate to be doing a crossword puzzle. Someone had complained about a table of friend out on the town with many of them on the phone a bunch.

  6. Hi,
    I LOVE the picture of the in-utero crackberry. Is there any way that I could get permission to use it on a brochure about addictions? I would be happy to credit you/promote you/ your website/work or anything else. We are a non-profit.
    Thanks!
    Barbra

Leave a Reply

