life, love, men, miscellaneous, wacky, women

Meme pas peur*


* a play on the word meme associated with fear (absence of it, in fact)

Last Spartan asked me to post six random things about me. Très cher, I’ve already done my task a few months ago. But anyway, I will do this one, with a twist however. Here are the new rules:

  1. Describe your desk at the office or at home
  2. Put a picture of it if you can
  3. Explain why you sort it (or don’t)
  4. Tag other people

OK. I couldn’t take a picture of mine, because right now, we’re in the middle of a reorganization of the newsroom, and my desk looks like this.

Usually, it looks more like this.

No, it’s not true, it’s a little bit more tidy than that. But generally, I’m ashamed to let my contacts see it because it’s not tidy at all to my eyes. I feel a little bit like Christina Yang in Grey’s Anatomy, when she let Dr. Burke see her apartment for the first time.

You can find on my desk: numerous newspapers, mainly the Financial Times, the Wall Street Journal, Le Soir and mine plus piles of magazines like The Economist, many dictionaries (one for English, the other for Dutch, another one for synonyms, and one for grammar), tons of notebooks and printed documents, lots of ballpoint pens, some books about economics and various objects I received from my press trips. Among them, there are treasure of stupid and useless gifts, like this one:

A part of the four collectibles I received when those two companies merged last year. When we got it, a banker who was sitting next to me looked at it with horror and told me he thought the bear was fornicating with something (then he realized it was a bull).

And this other one:

This picture was given to me and the other journalists in the room when we visited Oulu in Finland. There are so many things happening there that when our plane touched down at the local airport, a journalist and a photographer from the local newspaper were waiting for our arrival. Thanks to them, I’m a celebrity now (there was an article about us with a picture showing my hair in that newspaper)… Each time I get visitors at my desk, people just can’t help asking who’s this guy on this picture, and I reply that he’s my Finnish lover.

So, why don’t I sort my desk? Well, because I don’t have time for that.

Even if I changed the rules, this is still a tag, so it has to be passed. Cricket, Last Spartan (retour d’ascenseur), WishBoNE, Raindreamer, E., WISGF and DDTD, it’s your turn.

PS: this article gave me the inspiration for this tag…

Standard

10 thoughts on “Meme pas peur*

  1. Pingback: A Mind of My Own | Table Mess

  2. Pingback: Desk Meme « whatigotsofar version 2.0

Leave a Reply

