broken heart, celibacy, life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

How’s it gonna be?


Recently, I had a conversation with one of my friends who’s madly in love with a man but isn’t dating him, because they can’t get closer. “I have  tons of brakes that keep me from rushing in and telling him how I feel. I’m afraid it won’t work. I’m afraid we don’t live in the same world. I can’t speak when he’s near me. I feel so useless, and I think he deserves someone better than me” she said. “The problem is that I don’t know how he feels about me. I’m convinced he doesn’t care. But maybe it’s my fault: I keep sending him the wrong signals” she added.

I told her that she should let him make the first move, and she replied he already did, but she pushed him back. “I didn’t know what to reply to what he said” she said. And what did he say? “He was happy to see me” she replied. “It was on the phone, and I just told him nothing“.

For me, this isn’t a sign he’s interested. There are many ways to show your interest for someone, but a simple sentence which has nothing ambiguous isn’t one. I know my friend loves him, and it’s really hard to accept you don’t get your love back. Maybe she should try to overcome her fear and tell him the truth. At least, she will know how he feels about her. It’s the only way (and I know, as a journalist, that you always have to confirm any information, and not just found it on presomptions).

So, how do you show your interest to the person you fancy?

Standard

3 thoughts on “How’s it gonna be?

  1. Raindreamer says:

    WGSF – it is so difficult to balance between too light (only friendly) and too strong. Don’t be too hard on your self.

    I would say I am rather on the too light side of the pendulum. I am either just friendly or plain shy.

    The words are not so important I think than the way they are said and that makes it so difficult, because when the hope of others interest (love) is in the picture, the interpretation is very difficult.

    But I agree “happy to see you” might be just friendly.

  2. WIGSF, why do we always make a fool of ourselves when we try to catch the attention? But hey, don’t be so hard on yourself.

    Raindreamer, you’re right, sometimes we can make the situation so ambiguous that it’s hard to decipher our intentions. The fear of rejection can be really powerful.

Leave a Reply

