broken heart, life, miscellaneous, thoughts, wacky, women

Turning 30


I’m about to start intensive courses in finance for the next six months, so I won’t be quite regular on this blog during that period. I will try to post as much as possible, but I don’t know how things will turn out.

Today is also my birthday, and for a reason, I feel a little bit sad because I’m 30 now. I don’t know if I’m sad because I left the twenty-something world, or if I am because one of my friends, who nearly sold some drama last month because I was about to forget his birthday, completely forgot about mine today. Mister has just released his new book, so he must be busy too much not to care about me. Selfish man…

Some of my friends hated when they turned 30. They all said they had the feeling they were adult now and they should act like real ones. Some of them decided which path they would follow at that age. One eventually admitted his homosexuality and made his coming out to all of us. Another ended her ten years relationship with her man because she realized he wasn’t the one and that she couldn’t lie to herself anymore. I realized I was in a turning point in my career and that I needed some upgrades.

So, did you feel something when you turned 30?

 

 

 

Standard

9 thoughts on “Turning 30

  1. I had a really hard time turning 29 in preparation for turning 30. By the time 30 rolled around, I was alright. Practicing a little preventive anxiety worked in this case.

    40 was a blur. I was drunk for a weekend, but not depressed.

    50 is amazingly close. Alas.

  2. Irish says:

    Maybe it is all coincidence. I’m turning 30 this month and my life is a disaster. I’m depressed, felt a prisoner to my boyfriend so just broke things off, feel like I’ve been an object most of my life and feel like I’ve accomplished nothing. I’ve never felt like this before. Ever. So, I’m not sure if my turning 30 is the reason for all the mixed feelings and emotions or if I finally just opened my eyes. Maybe people who finally analyze their self-worth and are dissapointed in what they find just like to blame things on a number. After all, I never read of famous, well-doing celebs complaining about turnng 30. Who knows?

  3. Irish,

    Maybe it’s because of your thirties. And you shouldn’t believe celebs. People are rarely honest with their feelings, because the truth is never beautiful.

  4. Ellis I. Lee says:

    i talked to a dear old friend of mine yesterday, and she mentioned how awkward it was that we would be celebrating our 40th birthdays shortly. i told her that i still feel so young, especially when i can physically keep up with marines who are in their early twenties and late teens.

    i asked her how she felt.

    she also feels young.

    maybe that is why the idea of turning forty is so weird… we both feel so young and the people around us also feel so young. but there is nothing wrong with aging… good cheese and fine wine get better with time.

    as do people…

    happy belated birthday, j!
    and best of luck with your studies!

Leave a Reply

