life, love, men, miscellaneous, relationships, thoughts, women

Killing me softly


Sometimes, with one simple sentence, we can manage to reverse someone’s opinion on us. There are also sentences that put us in the persona non grata category. When I started my courses in September, I was sitting next to a guy who seemed nice at the beginning, but, as the conversation went on, he had those words toward me. “Why would you spend your evening at home while you can come here and learn?” And I said to myself, well, he must have a terrible social life to think that way, because I don’t share his view at all.

One simple sentence can exclude us forever, but it can also turn in our favor, if we use the right words. When I met B. for the first time, we had a long discussion and we were clearly disappointed from each other, until, at the very end of the lunch, I told him about what some of my other contacts think about the columns he writes in our newspaper. Those guys are pure douche, I think, but they helped me to save me from the disastrous situation I was in with B. And suddenly, the conversation went much more easily. We started to laugh, he dropped his severe ways, I let down a little bit my guard. Since then, there have been a lot of fights, but we have become friends.

One of my friends told me this is how she fell in love with her man. “I met him at a party, and we had a bit of a chat together on our way home. The conversation was boring, but just as we reached my place, he asked me if it wasn’t too difficult to do a man’s job, and as I replied, he really seemed to understand what I go through with my job. He won me over with this simple question, but I’m not sure if it was just the words, or the act that won me over.” she said.

Some people do believe that our acts are more important than words. But words can be powerful too, I think.

So, what do you prefer? Someone who acts, or who has the right words?

Standard

9 thoughts on “Killing me softly

  1. You know what? I love the way you write and end the post as though you are coaxing the reader to come to your site..

    Anyway, I feel that there ought to be words.. but along with it, actions are required. Else, a man of actions is better than a man with only words and nothing else to back it up at all.

  2. dontdatethatdude says:

    I agree with Giselle because I have met men who have all the right words, women too, but if the words are not followed by actions that support them it’s all simply BS to me! 🙂

  3. Oh, thanks Giselle. I know about the coaxing thing, you see, as I’m a journalist in real life, it tends to feed through all my writings.

    You’re right about the actions coming after words.

    DDTD, a man who’s all talks might be a crook. ;D

  4. Wow! you are a real life journalist?That’s wonderful…
    I have always wanted to become a journalist.. In fact I have wanted to read news on TV or be a live reporter!!!! But then.. Sometimes what you think is not how life turns out 😉
    But all is good 🙂

    & hey! I love reading your posts!!! 😀

  5. No, I’m not a freelance. The ups are: traveling, meeting interesting people, writing, enjoying the little influence you can have on people’s opinion,…
    The downs are: meeting assholes, misogynists when you’re a woman, dealing with a stupid boss, impossible hours, a sometimes shaky relationship and family life because you’re always away.

Leave a Reply

