blogging, broken heart, celibacy, life, love, men, relationships

Did you lose yourself somewhere out there?


…Did you get to be a star?

Thanks to F…book, I ‘ve reconnected with some old acquaintances I haven’t seen for years. Among those, there were my old classmates, and this is how you can see if you have succeeded in your life, or if you’ve stood still since high school. That’s how I learned that J. is now still pursuing his Ph.D. at University, while D., also a Ph.D, is now an expert for the WHO, and A. a judge for our national court. This also how I learned that D., the wannabe rockstar of my class circa 1994, is still a wannabe rockstar today, and hasn’t managed to keep one single job.  Then, the gossips. J. is not anymore with I. who left him for P., J.’s best friend, because she was fed up with his multiple infidelities. L. and H., who used to date when we were in high school and whom everyone thought they would end up married together sooner or later, did get married, but divorced two years late because H. decided he prefers men after all…

I must say I don’t like that much that blast from the past, and that I find it sometimes humiliating to compare your personal path with your old classmates. When I was in high school, there was already a social distinction between all of us, but also that life has sometimes decided otherwise for some paths. The ones who have a wealthy family  were more likely to make brilliant/long studies plus multiple travels to enrich their culture, but I’ve noticed that some of them tailed off. The most beautiful girls in my class are now not so beautiful anymore (sigh). The ugliest girl in the class, whom everyone bet she would be a true spinster, is now happily married.

Although it’s difficult to tell when you’re a teenager what would you become when you’ll grow up, who you are at that age will draw your future personality. I think it’s very hard to deviate from this scheme.

So, do you like to reconnect with your old classmates?

Standard

7 thoughts on “Did you lose yourself somewhere out there?

  1. I just joined facebook and was connected to my old classmates but guess what ..the sad part is that the person whom I really wanted to connect to..my high school crush whom I could never say to “I love you”, I could not connect because he never responded. I wrote a blog about it, about facebook and reconnecting to my friends. Check it out if interested. I wonder what your original purpose was when you joined facebook 🙂 and did you achieve it?

  2. Ellis I. Lee says:

    i have a love-hate relationship with facebook. i hate it, but my friends seem to love it. i never used facebook until my friends urged me to make an account while i was in iraq. and it bothers me how people use facebook and how much personal information is available.

    there are maybe only three or four people from high school and college with whom i would love to re-connect on facebook. and i recently found one of them, and that helped to make all the aggravations i have with facebook more bearable.

    and the best part was discovering that for all the good qualities that i admired about her in high school are still very much evident in her today… after some two decades!

    that at least gives me some hope in human nature.

  3. Hi taniam,

    I joined Facebook because my best friends were on it, that’s the sole reason.

    Ellis, indeed, I don’t like all the informations Facebook put about you. But it’s great when you can re-connect with people you liked, but lost out of sight.

  4. Hey, just wanted to say that I did hear back from the person who did not respond earlier, and he told me to call, but we haven’t been able to talk yet..as I have been too busy with work etc…we haven’t put each other as FB friends though. But now I am loving FB in general because I connected with so many new friends and its really nice to get to know them when earlier they were just acquaintances…

  5. yeah, that is true modobs..and don’t know if its a good thing..i am trying since past “1” day to lie a little low..but keep itching to open the dxxn website..LOL!

Leave a Reply

