blogging, broken heart, life, love, miscellaneous, thoughts, women

End of the year meme


I stole this one from various blogs

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? Running for a prestigious award in financial journalism (finger-crossed)

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I don’t make resolutions. I just set some little goals and try to stick to it.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yep, adorable twins.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Yes

5. What countries did you visit? Italy, France, Creta

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? Success. In every domain.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? July 14. Big nervous breakdown.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Managing to write better articles.

9. What was your biggest failure?  Running into one of the walls of my house with my car.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Yes.

11. What was the best thing you bought? A pair of lovely shoes, with high heels, and comfortable.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? ???

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? My boss. Appalled, but not depressed, though.

14. Where did most of your money go? clothes

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? The Sex and the City movie.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer? Sadder. Neither thinner nor fatter. Richer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Wear more skirts.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Be less shy.

20. How did you spend Christmas? With lots of food and drink.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008? Many times. Mostly with shoes.

22. What was your favorite TV program? Little Britain.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Oh, yeah.

24. What was the best book you read? Eat, pray, love from Elizabeth Gilbert

25. What was your greatest musical discovery? Fiction Plane.

26. What did you want and get?  a camera.

27. What did you want and not get? The list is too long.

28. What was your favorite film of this year? Close Encounters of the third kind.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I cursed the fact I’m 30 now.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I’m never satisfied.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? Boring.

32. What kept you sane? My friends and family. My man.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? MJK!

34. What political issue stirred you the most? Oh, my country has been plagued with a huge political crisis. And we’re not yet out of the wood.

35. Who did you miss? Bloggers. I haven’t been that much regular.

36. Who was the best new person you met?  B.?

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008. Never say anything bad about the others.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. 

“Who knows exactly what I’m after?
Nite and Fog are my days”

If you read this, considered yourself tagged!
 

Standard

5 thoughts on “End of the year meme

  1. Ellis I. Lee says:

    1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

    Went to war.

    2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

    I did not make a resolution for 2008. The closest thing to a resolution was telling my wife that I would kill anyone who would try to keep me from ever returning home to my family.

    3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

    Yes, several Marines had wives give birth while we were in Iraq.

    4. Did anyone close to you die?

    Unfortunately, yes.

    5. What countries did you visit?

    Germany, Kuwait, and Iraq.

    6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

    A fast and reliable internet connection.

    7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

    March 18 — the day we left for Iraq.

    8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

    Coming back home alive.

    9. What was your biggest failure?

    Not keeping a journal.

    10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

    Duh, everyone gets sick or hurt!

    11. What was the best thing you bought?

    A headlamp (a flashlight that you wear on your head)!

    12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

    My personal spiritual guide…

    13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

    Stupid people.

    14. Where did most of your money go?

    My family.

    15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

    Coming back home!

    16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

    Jane Fonda

    17. Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer?

    All of the above.

    18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

    Taken more pictures.

    19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

    Sweat.

    20. How did you spend Christmas?

    Quietly at home with family.

    21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

    Yes, three times.

    22. What was your favorite TV program?

    I don’t really watch tv anymore.

    23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

    Not really.

    24. What was the best book you read?

    The Unbearable Lightness of Being

    25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

    Figuring out how to copy songs off an iPod.

    26. What did you want and get?

    I had my old laptop mailed out to me…

    27. What did you want and not get?

    A package my brother sent to me that never arrived…

    28. What was your favorite film of this year?

    I really did not watch any movies…

    29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

    I had a quiet drink by myself… too old.

    30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

    People realizing the stupidity of senseless violence to achieve political goals.

    31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

    Desert camouflage…

    32. What kept you sane?

    Family, friends, and books… BOOKS!

    33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

    None really.

    34. What political issue stirred you the most?

    I really did not pay attention to politics last year, which is unusual for me.

    35. Who did you miss?

    My family…

    36. Who was the best new person you met?

    I got to know a couple of people really, really well.

    37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

    If you want to change the world, focus on children.

    38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

    “Don’t fence me in…”

Leave a Reply

