broken heart, celibacy, life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

Staring at the sun


Recently, I went to a seminar where all the CEOs, politicians, and intellectuals of my country were invited. The host, who happens to be one of my acquaintances, left his chair after his speech while other CEOs were still talking, and came down to me just to say hello and have a bit of a chat. Since I know him, he has never reacted like that with me, but he had already done this kind of thing with some other journalists.  This time, I don’t know why, it was really embarrassing for me. Because all of a sudden, everyone looked at us during the speech and wondered what was going on between us. My acquaintance is well known in the public eye, and he belongs to the category of guys you just notice as soon as he walks in the room.

It was weird because a few days ago, one of my friends explained how she met her man, and her encounter looked a little bit like my experience, except there were no flirting or whatsoever between me and him. But  I could now understand better what she felt at that time,. It was during a cocktail, she was there with some colleagues and he was the guy with the big personality everyone was gathering around. At one moment, he came to her and told her how beautiful she was and asked for her business card. She told me she felt flattered, and speechless at the same time. “ I could only say thank you and give him my card, and that ‘s all. But the next day, he called me at the office and asked if we could go and have a dinner sometime, because he wanted to know me better.  And I said yes. And now, I don’t know where this relationships could go with him, because he’s not totally available, but I don’t expect anything from him. I just enjoy being with him” she said.

There’s something thrilling in this kind of situation, because you feel a little bit like the chosen one. Unfortunately, reality can really bite. In the case of my friend, it looks like she has landed a womanizer. I guess that she needed this to boost a bit her ego. I just hope for her she won’t get hurt and she won’t hope too much of such a relationship.

I asked around me if such a guy could win their heart, and this is what I got:

“No, I would run away. I’m sure he’s the kind of guy with a big ego, who only thinks about himself and thinks he ‘s doing you a favor by picking you among all the other ladies. Besides, you can be sure that he can do this with every woman he meets in a bar. So if you expect him to be faithful, well, there’s no hope” B., 30, said.

That is so cliché, so old school. It’s like he said: look, I’ve got the biggest willie in the room, and you have won the lottery with me. Who does he think he is? If in the room, there’s a man stuck at the bar because he’s shy and hasn’t got the nerves to get the girls, well, I would prefer definitely this option” I., 35, said.

Well, it depends. If it can boost your career, why not? It’s an exchange for an exchange. He uses you for you beauty, you use him for his power. I think it can be a good compromise. But you can’t expect any feeling” C., 40, said.

” I may sound naive, but what if it works between him and you? I would give it a try” P., 35, said.

So, what would you do in a situation like that?

Standard

6 thoughts on “Staring at the sun

Leave a Reply

