life, men, miscellaneous, thoughts, women

The catcher in the rye


“Books are precious. We only lend these to the ones we trust” always says one of my friends. We have often discussed about this strange topic with her because it implies a lot of other consequences. For example, I don’t like to recommend a book I like to anyone, and it’s very oddly. I only give this details to the people I trust, the people I consider as my friends. Why? I fear these books won’t be read like it should be or be misunderstood by the one who reads it. For example, there’s a book I really, really love because it means a lot to me and offers me a lens in which I can see the world, but the book and the author are a bit controverted. I fear, and I know it’s stupid, people would make a strange association with the book and my personality.

When you think about it, the books we read say a lot about our personality. If we pick only the best sellers, or the latest “it” writer, it says that we like to follow the mass. Books about self-improvement say we want a new direction in our life. Chick lit is there to empty our head. Sci-Fi is a way to escape from reality,…

Recently, one of my friends gave me a book he really likes. It came as a joke between us. I told him he always picks tortured authors who have a very depressing vision on life. For instance, they all write around one theme: the absurd and ugliness of existence. And he replied I should read that book, but I should keep that for myself. When he mentioned the title, I was a little bit shocked. Simply because when I was in high school, our teacher referred to that book as one of the most controversial, but also beautifully written book. My friend told me he wasn’t interested in the controversy surrounding the book, but simply the writings. He said it was his source of inspiration. Period.

But I like to be shocked, to be honest.

So, is there a book you would recommend?

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “The catcher in the rye

  1. For relationships, I love Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman.

    For self-improvement, I’ll start off with Little Things Big Results by Roger Fritz.

    For getting things done, I’ll read How can I Get Myself to Do What I need to Do by Terry Gogna.

    For improving meet-new-people skills, I would get The Power of Meeting New People by Debra Fine.

  2. I would love to recommend Catcher In The Rye. For most people who see it as a vulgar piece, i couldn’t help but to agree. I also agrees that certain level of vulgarity is necessary as it encompassed what life is all about. And sometimes, it just how people express themselves, people should see beyond the vulgar words and see what lies beneath it. I guess what beautiful about Catcher In The Rye is the writing wasn’t preachy but slowly it start to make sense to you in its own way. It catch how people live their life and how things change yet the struggle keep on going. And life should be enjoy and indulge and keep on your feet, no amount of failure should fail you. That’s what i thought about catcher in the rye.

    The same perception when i pick up a Malay novel title Salina; a controversial novel about a prostitute. I guess the subject of discussion is controversial but nevertheless, it’s about life and human being. Though, i would agree that people will get offended just by hearing about the subject matter itself and stunned them from picking up the book.

    I don’t care much about how people perceive me cause people who know me know my worth. Other people? I just don’t care. People could talk all they like and despite anything you says, people will still talk about it. You could either care about it or just let it slip and by gone. I know it’s important to take care of your image but as much as general perception goes, you just couldn’t please everyone. If people decide to judge me by the books that I read, they have every right to. 🙂

    I could understand that if someone not opt to share certain things, cause it’s a personal choice really.

  3. Ellis I. Lee says:

    this is such an interesting post, and i have to agree with you that the books we read (or don’t read) say a lot about our personalities. and, just like you, i actually have a hard time recommending books to people because i honestly feel as if books are one path to a person’s soul, and so i am very hesitant to share that with other people. because of that, i also have a hard time reading books if i know that it is the favorite of one of my closest friends.

    for example, i still haven’t read the little prince by antoine de saint-exupéry (even though i really want to) because i know it happens to be the absolute favorite of a very close friend of mine. then what happens if i end up not liking the book as much or—worse—really hating the book?

    in reading this post, i must admit that i feel very flattered and honored that you once recommended a book to me. so thank you very much for that…

    as for a book i enjoy, one of my absolute favorite is the sorrows of young werther by johann wolfgang von goethe.

    regarding this work, goethe wrote to a friend: “this is another one of those creatures whom, like the pelican, i have fed with the blood of my own heart.”

    i love it!

  4. Thanks for the list, WB.

    Mangifera, Catcher in the Rye is a beautifully written book. It helps you understand that it’s important not to be too judgmental about the others.

    Ellis, you’re welcome! I’m in the exact situation as you with my friend. I’m afraid to read his book and not liking it. It’s silly.

Leave a Reply

