broken heart, celibacy, life, love, men, thoughts, women

You’re so vain


Would you date someone who’s too vain? Personally, I couldn’t. And I would immediately hear this song running into my head otherwise:

But for a reason, sometimes, we can fall in love with a guy soo vain, because we feel chosen or something like that. I do believe we choose our partner to reflect our own narcissism. Based on this dynamic, a relationship can last, or not. And it can lead to some surprises.

Recently, one of my friends announced to us she was single. She left her man who was really narcissistic and only thought about himself. He would spend more time than her in the bathroom and checked himself in the mirror all of the time. On his desk, at work, there was a picture of him with  a famous football star. And he was always talking about what he did and how he succeeded in this and that. In other words, he was really, really annoying.

My friend realized she was bored one day, when she woke up in the morning and wondered who was that guy sleeping next to her. Of course, we were all flabbergasted when she said that to us. She explained that she really felt invisible next to him all of the time, so she would act without considering him in her life. She became so used to live on her own that she didn’t see why she should keep him in her life. So, it was only logical.

Luckily for her, her ex wasn’t mean. There are vain people who are also mean to you. Even Lady Gaga met such an asshole. She recently said in an interview for Cosmopolitan:

I had a boyfriend who told me I’d never succeed, never be nominated for a Grammy, never have a hit song, and that he hoped I’d fail.”She added: “I said to him, ‘Someday, when we’re not together, you won’t be able to order a cup of coffee at the f*****g deli without hearing or seeing me.

I wonder if she ever woke up one day and asked who the hell was sleeping next to her…

So, do you think that stupidity is a deal breaker?

Standard

3 thoughts on “You’re so vain

  1. Stupidity is most definately a deal breaker for me. Interesting to note, though; I feel once fell in love with a woman who wasn’t vein, or stupid, and she fell in love with an asshole, broke my heart.

  2. You’d surely have to find yourself pretty entertaining to be happy with a stupid partner. I’d just get bored at the lack of meaningful conversation.

  3. Hi sydb,
    I’m sorry for you. But love is not rational. That would explain why she fell in love with an asshole.

    Olly, I think that if you’re happy with a stupid partner while you’re not, it’s called dominance.

Leave a Reply

