broken heart, celibacy, life, love, relationships, thoughts, wacky, wedding, women

A past never far?


A few years ago, one of the ministers of my country got married to a famous attorney. At their wedding, they picked their ex’s as best man and maid of honor. This story was really weird. And no, their ex’s didn’t intervene to ruin their marriage. They are still together now.

Would you invite your ex to your wedding? And as a best man/maid of honor?  Personally, I wouldn’t, in any case. It sounds like a revenge on your ex. I asked around me if people could do so, and this is what they replied.

It depends. If my ex is married and have moved on, I wouldn’t consider this as a revenge. Of course, I have to remain friends with my ex, otherwise I wouldn’t even bother to invite him to my wedding” O., 34, said.

No, it would be too weird. Even if N. and I remain good friends, I could never invite him to my wedding. And I wouldn’t want to go to his wedding either. N. and I were engaged before we decided to call it quits. This is why I think it would be too weird. It’s like we would remind us of our own failure to get married together” B., 32, said.

“My ex is the God father of my daughter. So, yes, I invited him to my wedding. We were dating when we were in High School, but we realized we were better friends than lovers, and we decided to remain that way. As a friend, he never lets me down. And so do I.  It was obvious I should have invited him to my wedding.” P., 35, said.

Certainly not. B. and I find it hard to resist to each other. He’s not himself when I’m around and so am I. So far, I’ve never dated a guy who could make me forget about him. And he had come back into my life several times, ruining all my relationships. So, I don’t think I would get married someday. I would hope it will be with B., but it’s hopeless. And if I do get married with someone else, I will never invite B. at my wedding. I would also have a hard time accepting B.’s wedding with another woman” N.,33, said.

I guess it all depends on how it ended with your ex. But personally, I don’t think it’s a good idea to invite your ex to your wedding. And even worse, your significant other’s ex.

Would you dare?

Standard

2 thoughts on “A past never far?

Leave a Reply

