blogging, celibacy, life, love, men, relationships, thoughts, women

Too difficult


It’s been two weeks I’ve been on dating sites, and so far, I haven’t got any good result. I’m about to meet tomorrow a guy I chatted one day with. But I’m really afraid because this has gone too quickly for my taste. Maybe tomorrow, I won’t go. I’m  afraid I won’t like the guy.

For the second, now that I think about it, maybe he’s simply not interested at all. I was the one who sent him an email. I thought he and I had many common points. But it turned out he didn’t bother to leave me long emails, just short ones. And he seemed more interested by my career as a journalist than for who I am. He’s not curious about me, apart from that.

The other emails I received are either from guys who want to get laid, or from guys who looked like they are single like forever. Those are really nice, but they sound a bit desperate, and frankly, this doesn’t appeal to me at all. And most of them are way too old/ too ugly/too short/ too dumb/ have an open conflict with grammar and writing.

I know that I’m difficult. But online dating just leaves me cold. It lacks an important thing: human interaction. Personally, I can’t fall in love with just an image and a profile, and some emails.

Love takes time to develop. I don’t believe in love at first sight.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Too difficult

  1. Ellis I. Lee says:

    this may sound strange, but when i read your post earlier today and learned that you do not believe in love at first sight… i became a little bit sad. i don’t know why.

  2. Q says:

    Love certainly does need time to evolve. My friends and family who have done the dating site thing have had hit or miss interactions, but not all bad. And I don’t believe in love at first sight either, and I don’t believe in soul mates. I believe relationships take a lot of work to be good, and necessitate a lot of compromise. I don’t think anyone expects you to lose your head after having a cup of coffee with a guy; just see where it goes. And don’t feel compelled to go on a second date if you feel like there’s nothing there. His apparent lack of interest might be due to poor social skills, but that doesn’t mean there’s nothing there!

Leave a Reply

